Distinguished Research Professor Kumar Sridharan

Dr. Kumar Sridharan

Distinguished Research Professor, Fellow of American Society for Materials

Dr. Kumar Sridharan’s expertise spans a broad spectrum of areas in materials science, including nuclear reactor materials, corrosion, physical metallurgy, surface modification and coatings processes, ion implantation, plasma-based synthesis and deposition of materials, characterization and testing of materials, and industrial applications.

He is the author of over 200 publications in these areas including five invited book chapters, journal articles, conference proceedings, technical abstracts, and industrial reports. Dr. Sridharan has served on the editorial committees of such journals as the International Materials Reviews (2000-2012) and the Journal of Materials Engineering and Performance (2003-2012). He presently serves on the editorial committee of the journal, Advanced Materials and Processes, and is an elected member of the Nuclear Materials Committee of the Metallurgical Society (TMS). He has been one of the principal organizers of the Nuclear Materials Symposium at the Annual Materials Science and Technology Conferences since 2009.

In 2012, Dr. Sridharan received the ASM-IIM distinguished lectureship award where he gave three lectures in institutions in India in the area of materials science, under the auspices of a joint collaboration between American Society for Materials (ASM) and Indian Institute for Materials (IIM). In 2013, based on his expertise with materials in nuclear systems, he was invited to participate in the National Academies Keck Futures Initiative conference, intended to catalyze interdisciplinary research and communication at the intersection of science, engineering, and medicine, and enhance education among researchers funding organizations and universities. In 2008, Dr. Sridharan was elected as a Fellow of the American Society for Materials (FASM) for distinguished contributions to the field of Materials Science and Engineering. In 2012, he received the University of Wisconsin-Madison College of Engineering’s Bollinger Award for Academic Achievement and in 2013 he was awarded the University of Wisconsin-Madison Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Research.